Official Nebraska Government Website
Licensing & Forms License Application Process License Issuance Process License Transfer Procedures License Renewal Education & Training Forms Business Entity Options for Self-Employed Brokers Professional Corporations & Professional Limited Liability Company Information Certifications of License History/Licensure Recognition Errors & Omissions (E&O) Insurance Information Fees Specialized Registrations


Continuing Education Requirement

Active licensees are required to complete 18 clock hours of education every two years.  At least 12 hours of the 18 must be in continuing education activities approved by the Commission. Of these 12 hours, at least 6 hours must be in designated subject matter.  These courses are indicated with the letter “R” in the four-digit course content number that is assigned to the course.

Team Requirement

Three hours shall be required in courses on teams or team leadership which are approved and so designated by the Commission for all team members, team leaders, and designated brokers who supervise teams within 180 days after being designated a team member or team leader. Or, in the case of a designated broker within 180 days of the creation of any team under the broker’s supervision.  One of these courses, indicated by the number 1000R, must be taken every four years.

For Licensees Who are a part of or Supervise a Team

Team means two or more persons licensed by the commission who (a) work under the supervision of the same broker, (b) work together on real estate transactions to provide real estate brokerage services, (c) represent themselves to the public as being part of a team, and (d) are designated by a team name;

Team leader means any person licensed by the commission and appointed or recognized by his or her broker as the leader for his or her team;

Of the 12 hours of Continuing Education required in Section 81-885.51 of the Nebraska Real Estate License Act, for those licensees who are a part of a team or supervise a team, 3 hours shall be required in every four year period in a team training course or courses approved and designated by the Commission as meeting this requirement.

These courses are designated by the number 1000R.

Duplication of Continuing Education Prohibition

Continuing Education Credit will not be granted when activities or substantial activity content is duplicated within 4 years. However, “R” courses are an exception to this rule and may be duplicated in subsequent continuing education periods but NOT in the same continuing education period.  The course content number is used to determine duplication of content between courses.

Commission-Approved Training

Commission-Approved Training may NOT be used to satisfy the Team Training Requirement.