Official Nebraska Government Website
Commission Information Commission Members Commission Staff Commission Meeting Information Commission Comment Newsletter



The Nebraska Real Estate License Act was first passed in 1935, and became effective January 1, 1936.  The Act was initially administered and enforced by the Nebraska Secretary of State.  In 1943 the Nebraska Real Estate Commission was created by an act of the Legislature (Laws 1943, c. 171 §§1-26), the Commission then consisted of four appointed members, one from each Congressional District, and the Secretary of State, who then, as now, served as Chair of the Commission.  Each of the appointed members was required to be an active and licensed real estate broker.   In 1973 the Act was amended significantly and membership was expanded to the current seven Commissioners.    In 1985 continuing education was made mandatory for all licensees, in 1991 errors and omissions insurance was made mandatory, and in 1994 legislation clearly delineating the roles and responsibilities of limited seller's and buyer's agents was passed by the legislature.

Commission Comment Newsletter

Published Quarterly, the Commission Comment Newsletter is the official publication of the Nebraska Real Estate Commission.  The Comment covers current industry and compliance issues, regulatory changes, and more.  Click here for current and archived issues of the Commission Comment.


 Current Commission
The seven member Nebraska Real Estate Commission is chaired by the Secretary of State and consists of six other members appointed by the Governor.  There is one broker member appointed from each of the three Congressional Districts, one broker member appointed at large, one salesperson member and one member appointed to represent the public.  The Commission meets approximately once a month and reviews licensing, education disciplinary and other policy matters.  Although the licensing and regulation of real estate salespersons and brokers is still the primary duty of the Commission, their duties have been expanded over the years to include the registration of subdivided land development, time-shares, retirement communities and membership campgrounds, please click on the “legal” tab above for more information about the various duties and laws which the Commission Administers. 

Commission Staff

The Real Estate Commission has eleven staff members, including the Director, who is appointed by the Commission, the Deputy Director, Deputy Director for Enforcement, three trust account examiners and five administrative staff.

Further Information on Commissioners, Commission Meetings, and Commission Staff can be found by using the navigation tabs to the left.