Official Nebraska Government Website
 
Licensing & Forms License Application Process License Issuance Process License Transfer Procedures License Renewal Pre-License, Continuing Education Information & Commission-Approved Training Forms Business Entity Options for Self-Employed Brokers Professional Corporations & Professional Limited Liability Company Information Certifications of License History/Licensure Recognition Errors & Omissions (E&O) Insurance Information Fees Specialized Registrations

NEBRASKA REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

Important Information and Instructions Regarding
The Renewal of an ACTIVE OR INACTIVE Real Estate Broker's License

BROKER LICENSE RENEWAL FEE - $200.00

PLEASE READ CAREFULLY

ALL LICENSES EXPIRE DECEMBER 31, 2019

Applications for renewal, together with the proper fee of $200.00, must be received in the office of the Nebraska Real Estate Commission on or before December 2, 2019 (since November 30 is on a Saturday).

Online renewals and fees will not be accepted unless the renewal process is completed and submitted.  Renewals completed after December 2, 2019, deadline will have to pay additional late fees (which are $25.00 per month or any portion of a month beginning December 3, 2019). The option to renew late expires July 1, 2020. Do not attempt to avoid late renewal penalties by sending inadequate documents. Your license will not be renewed until all materials have been submitted in full. Please coordinate your documents so that they may arrive either prior to or simultaneoulsy with your renewal.

It is strongly recommended that you retain a copy of the submission confirmation page for your records.  RENEWAL DEADLINES REMAIN THE SAME FOR ANY METHOD OF RENEWAL UTILIZED.

Licensee Portal

Please be aware that you CANNOT fill out online renewals for anyone but yourself.  If multiple licensees use the same computer to renew their licenses online, they must logout of their licensee portal and login using their individual licensee portal accessed by entering their user name and password.
 
The online renewal, along with access to the records the Commission has relative to your particular license, can be found at your licensee portal.  To get to the portal you login from our homepage by clicking on the licensee login button.  In order to login you will need to know your real estate license number and your password.  If you do not know your password you can reset it from our website by clicking on the licensee login button in the upper right hand corner of the NREC homepage: https://nrec.nebraska.gov/, then click on the “change password” link to have a new password E-mailed to you.  The email address we have on file for you must be current and you must know your license number to reset your password, if you need help with either of these things you can call us (402) 471-2004 and we will help you.  Once logged in, the renewal link will be clearly indicated on the portal main page. 

The licensee portal will also provide your Continuing Education and Errors and Omissions insurance information, as well as affiliated licensees and branch office information that we have on file for designated brokers.  All licensees will be able to login to their licensee portal but the renewal option will only be available to those whose renewal is due this year.

Prior to Selecting the License Renewal Link Found on the Portal

Review the continuing education and errors and omissions insurance information we have on file for you - if something is missing, be prepared to submit it as a PDF file.  These items must be in order before your license will be renewed on active status. If all items are not received in 3 days, your renewal will be rejected.

Designated brokers will want to review the list of their affiliated licensees so that they are prepared to add or subtract those necessary as part of completing the renewal.  The list of employees can be printed off so that notes can be made to the list and it can be referenced when filling out the renewal form.

Errors and Omissions Insurance Claims and Lawsuit Information:  If there is an affirmative answer regarding errors and omissions insurance claims you must supply the names, last known addresses of all claimants and persons against whom claims were filed, and other parties involved; the name of the errors and omissions insurance carrier for each licensee named; the location of the court, agency, or other entity with which such claim was filed (if applicable); the date such claim was filed and the caption and case number assigned to such claim; the nature of the claim and a brief statement of all significant facts and details.  If there is an affirmative answer regarding lawsuits etc., you must supply the names of all parties involved, the court, location, date filed, nature of the suit and a brief statement of all significant details.  These details, as requested, must be ready to submit via narrative or PDF attachment.

Active brokers, who are seeking to place their license under a designated broker and who renew their license after January 1, 2020, will require a letter signed by a designated broker indicating that the broker agrees to supervise the active licensee.  This is necessary even if the licensee is seeking to work for the same broker he/she worked for just prior to the license expiring on December 31.  All affiliated licensees renewing after December 31, should be prepared to attach such a letter in a PDF format when renewing online. 

Designated brokers will also want to review their branch offices every year and consider those they wish to renew or let expire by the end of the year.  Online branch renewals are also available, please remember that both the designated broker and the managing broker (if other than the designated broker) must be renewed on active status before the branch can be renewed.

Attachments

If you have not already submitted all documents necessary, the renewal application will let you attach documents such as CE certificates, legal documents and Errors and Omissions Insurance coverage verification.  All attachments must be in PDF format.  PDF converters are readily available online and also built into many of the latest versions of popular off the shelf software such as Microsoft Word.

The Renewal Process

The online renewal application asks for the same information as the old paper renewals in generally the same order, so it should look familiar.  By pre-populating the applicable fields we hope to speed up your renewal process and minimize any errors.   The renewal application includes numerous stopping points so you can save your work and continue later.  Please remember, however, the process is not complete until the renewal has been submitted.  The actual license renewal will be confirmed after the Commission staff reviews the submission and accepts it. 

Business/Residence Address Information & Telephone Numbers:  These pre-populated fields may be changed as needed.

Affiliated Licensees:  If designated brokers have noticed changes that should be made to the list they have just reviewed, they will have the opportunity to make those changes within the online renewal.

Continuing Education:  Review the education on file in the licensee portal PRIOR to proceeding through the license renewal.  All licensees renewing on an active status will need to have completed 18 hours of education.  If the education screen does not indicate that you have completed your education requirement, review what is on file and contact the course provider to submit the missing verification prior to renewing the license. Please allow the providers 10 days from the course date to submit verification to our office. However, if you have taken out of state courses or appraisal courses, you will need to submit proof of completion with your renewal.  As you are aware, inactive brokers may waive completion of continuing education until such time as their license is activated.  Because inactives do not have a broker, training is not required. 

    1. If you are a resident of and licensed in another jurisdiction, you may meet the Nebraska continuing education requirement by affirming that you have met the continuing education requirement in your resident jurisdiction.
    2. Team Members, Team Leaders and designated brokers who supervise teams must take a 1000R course within 180 days of July 1, 2017 or of becoming part of a team.  The team training course must be repeated every 4 years.
    3. If you provide property management services or supervise a licensee or licensees who provide property management services, then 3 Continuing Education hours shall be required in each two year period in a property management course. Courses that meet this requirement are indicated by the letters “PM” following the course content number.

Manner of Doing Business:  If you are a designated broker for a partnership you must be prepared to list each of the partners and their residence addresses.  If you are the designated broker for a corporation you must be prepared to list the name and residence address of each officer.  If you are a designated broker for a limited liability company you must be prepared to list the name and residence address of each member who has reserved any management rights and each manager. 

Errors and Omissions Insurance Coverage: ALL LICENSEES, must review their errors and omissions insurance coverage!  If your insurance expires on or before January 2, 2020, and you wish to remain on active status you must renew your errors and omissions insurance and proof of insurance for 2020 must be in our records prior to renewing your license.  Please review your current errors and omissions insurance information section on the licensee portal as well as the 2020 E&O Insurance Information page.   The Commission-offered insurance program enrollment information packet was mailed to you directly from the Commission offered plan provider, Williams Underwriting Group (WUG) or you may visit their website from the link above.  As always, you are welcome to use the Commission offered plan or obtain your own equivalent coverage, but, remember, if your insurance expires on or before January 2, 2020, you must renew your E & O coverage in order to keep your license on active status.  Do not send insurance enrollment form or fees to the Commission.  These must be sent to the address indicated on the insurance enrollment form. 

If you are renewing on ACTIVE status, your current expiration date will be pre-populated in the errors and omissions insurance section located in the online renewal.  If that date is not on or after January 2, 2020, you will be asked to select from the following:


I made application for Errors and Omissions Insurance under the Commission-Offered Plan on this date:


If you have enrolled in, or renewed with, the Nebraska Commission-offered plan.  You must also provide the date you made application with WUG.  WE CANNOT RENEW YOUR LICENSE WITHOUT CONFIRMATION OF INSURANCE.  ENROLLMENT FORMS AND PREMIUMS SHOULD BE SENT TO THE ERRORS AND OMISSIONS INSURANCE PROGRAM ADMINISTRATOR OR ONLINE ENROLLMENT SHOULD OCCUR PRIOR TO THE TIME THE LICENSE RENEWAL FORM IS SENT TO THE COMMISSION.  PLEASE VISIT THE PROGRAM ADMINISTRATOR’S WEBSITE OR ENROLLMENT MATERIALS AND INFORMATION REGARDING VERIFYING COVERAGE TO THE COMMISSION PRIOR TO THE LICENSE RENEWAL DEADLINE.

I have arranged to have Proof of Equivalent Coverage for 2018 submitted directly from the issuer.

If you are a resident of another jurisdiction and have equivalent Errors and Omissions insurance coverage through your resident jurisdiction’s group plan with coverage expiring on or before January 1, 2020.
OR
If you are insured by equivalent Errors and Omissions insurance with coverage expiring before the end of the year or on January 1, 2020.

You must either submit the Certificate of Equivalent Coverage form with the license renewal form, or arrange to have it submitted prior to or no later than the time the license renewal form is submitted to the Commission, or your renewal will be rejected.  The “Errors and Omissions Insurance Fact Sheet” and the “Certification of Equivalent Coverage” form may be found on our website on the E&O Insurance Information page.

I have attached Proof of Equivalent Coverage extending into 2018.
If you are a resident of another jurisdiction and have equivalent Errors and Omissions insurance coverage through your resident jurisdiction’s group plan with coverage expiring on or before January 1, 2020
OR
If you are insured by equivalent Errors and Omissions insurance with coverage expiring before the end of the year or on January 1, 2020.

AND
You have not arranged to have the Certificate of Equivalent Coverage sent from the issuer;
You must submit the Certificate of Equivalent Coverage form with the license renewal form, prior to or no later than the time the license renewal form is submitted to the Commission, or your renewal will be rejected.  The “Errors and Omissions Insurance Fact Sheet” and the “Certification of Equivalent Coverage” form may be found on our website on the E&O Insurance Information page.

If you are renewing on INACTIVE status, you will need to select the option which indicates that you are requesting to be renewed on Inactive Status, and will not be acquiring the Errors and Omissions Insurance at this time.

Citizenship Attestation

Nebraska Statutes 4-108 through 4-114 require the Nebraska Real Estate Commission to verify the lawful presence in the United States of any person who has applied for a professional license and should be enforced without regard to race, religion, gender, ethnicity, or national origin.  Verification of lawful presence in the United States requires that the applicant attest, in a format provided, that he or she is a United States citizen; or he or she is a qualified alien under the federal immigration and Nationality Act.  A qualified alien applicant shall have his or her employment authorization document verified through the Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements Program operated by the United States Department of Homeland Security or an equivalent program designated by the United States Department of Homeland Security.  The verification is required when you apply for a real estate license and with each two-year license renewal.  If you are not a U.S. citizen, please make sure that you provide the correct immigration status and alien number as this number is used to verify employment eligibility.  You must also be able to provide a copy of your USCIS documentation upon request.

Final Review and Payment

When you have completed entering the renewal information you will be taken to a review page that will allow you to look over what you have entered.  Once you have completed your review and made any corrections, you will be taken to the payment portal where you will pay for your renewal via ACH (electronic check) or credit card (Visa, MasterCard or Discover). Debit cards will NOT be accepted.  NOTE:  Any stop payment through a credit card company (chargeback) will be subject to a $30.00 processing fee.  Further, the License Act provides that the issuance of insufficient funds may be grounds for denial or revocation of a license.  Print the submission confirmation page for your record.

Because there are many items on the renewal form, such as lawsuit information or criminal charges, that will still require review by Commission staff, the renewal status indicated on your licensee portal will indicate “pending Commission’s approval”  Your renewal will not be complete until Commission staff have reviewed the form and given final approval, this process may take several days.  Your ACH or credit card will not be charged pending final review, but you will probably see a notice of pending charge or charge authorization on your online statement after the renewal has been submitted.

If all items required to renew your license, including continuing educaiton and errors and omissions insurance, are not received in 3 days, your renewal will be rejected.

Email Verification That License Has Been Renewed and Emailed Receipt Cards!

Please allow time for the Commission’s review of your renewal.  After the renewal has been reviewed you will receive an email that will confirm the renewal has been approved OR that the renewal has been rejected and why it has been rejected.  Finally, after you have succeeded in renewing and have received the email indicating approval of renewal you will receive another email that contains your receipt card.  PRINT YOUR RECEIPT CARD AND PUT IT IN YOUR WALLET—no more waiting until a mass mailing in December! 

Assistance

Please remember that the Commission Office will be open from 8:00-5:00 Central M-F and will be happy to assist you at any time.  You may reach our office by:
Telephone:  (402)471-2004

TO RETURN TO THE LICENSEE PORTAL CLICK HERE